Home / Politics / Details

10 names picked for EC formation

6 February 2017, 6:31:49

Staff Correspondent:The search committee has finalised a list of 10 names picked from the recommendations made by political parties.

A report in this regard was made and it will be submitted to the president for selecting the chief and other commissioners of the Election Commission (EC) on Monday evening.

“After submitting the report to the president it will be decided later whether the names on the list will be made public,” Abdul Wadud, additional secretary of the cabinet division, told journalists after the meeting.

Headed by Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain, the search panel includes Justice Obaidul Hassan, a High Court judge; Muhammed Sadique, chairman of Bangladesh Public Service Commission; Masud Ahmed, comptroller and auditor general of Bangladesh; Prof Syed Manzoorul Islam, trustee board member of Transparency International Bangladesh; and Shireen Akhter, pro-vice chancellor of Chittagong University.

The timeframe of the search committee will expire on February 8 while the tenure of the incumbent election commission will end in the middle of this month.

Unauthorized use of news, image, information, etc published by BD24Live.com is punishable by copyright law. Appropriate legal steps will be taken by the management against any person or body that infringes those laws.