Home / Sports / Details

BD 246 for 6 at tea, trail Ind by 441 runs

11 Feb, 2017 15:01:41

Sports Correspondent:Bangladesh already lost their sixth wicket approaching tea on the third day when Sabbir Rahman was went back for 16 by Ravindra Jadeja to leave the tourists struggling at 235 for 6 in 71.1 overs against India in the Test match at Hyderabad today.

Sabbir chose a full delivery from Jadeja to sweep, and when he missed his shot, the umpire ruled in the bowler’s favour.

Earlier, Bangladesh lost the important wicket of Shakib Al Hasan for 82 in the post-lunch session of day-3 after a 107-run partnership for the fifth wicket.

Fall of wicket 216/5 (62.1 ov); Partnership: 107 runs, 27.3 overs, RR: 3.89 (Mushfiqur Rahim 44, Shakib Al Hasan 59)

Shakib Al Hasan and captain Mushfiqur Rahim consolidated the innings with their fifth wicket stand that crossed 50 as Bangladesh reached 160 for 4 in 50 overs during the post-lunch session.

Shakib reached his 21st half-century in Test cricket, and was batting on 52 from 71 balls when Bangladesh were 160 for 4. Mushfiqur was giving him good company but the running between the wickets nearly brought the downfall of the Bangladesh captain in the 50th over. After the decision was referred to the third umpire, Mushfiqur got the benefit of doubt and lived to fight another day.

Bangladesh ended a torrid first session and went for lunch on the third day at 125 for 4 in 43 overs, still trailing India by 562 runs.

The tourists lost three wickets and scored 84 runs in the first session. Shakib Al Hasan was batting on 29 from 55 and Mushfiqur Rahim on 6 from 26 when the players left the field for lunch. Bangladesh batsmen were tested with the old ball, and could have lost more wickets as Indian pacers were bowling with their tails up.

Bangladesh fell deeper into trouble as they lost Mahmudullah Riyad for 28 while wobbling at 109 for 4 in 34.4 overs during the first session of day-3.

With the ball reversing, the extra pace of Indian pacers was making life quite difficult for Bangladesh batters. Ishant Sharma got one to seam in off the pitch and the ball struck Mahmudullah on the top of his back pad.

Mahmudullah was defending down the wrong line and after he was given out lbw by the on-field umpire, he quickly signaled Shakib Al Hasan at the other end that the ball had struck him high and went for the review.

During the review, HawkEye showed the ball was clipping leg stump and the decision from umpire Joel Wilson stood. Mahmudullah need not have taken the review in hindsight because the ball didn’t hit him as high as he had indicated to his batting partner.

Mahmudullah lbw b Sharma 28 (57b 4x4 0x6) SR: 49.12

Fall of wicket 109/4 (34.4 ov); Partnership: 45 runs, 10.3 overs, RR: 4.28 (Mahmudullah 17, Shakib Al Hasan 23)

Bangladesh’s morning on the third day was getting from bad to worse as they lost Mominul Haque for 12 while struggling at 64 for 3 after 24.1 overs.

Umesh Yadav was bowling sharp and got the ball to swing late when he bowled fuller. He got one to nip back in off the pitch just enough to beat Mominul’s bat. The ball was crashing into middle and leg, and the umpire raised his finger to send Mominul back into the dressing room.

Mominul Haque lbw b Yadav 12 (36b 1x4 0x6) SR: 33.33

Fall of wicket 64/3 (24.1 ov); Partnership: 20 runs, 7.3 overs, RR: 2.66 (Mahmudullah 11, Mominul Haque 9)

Bangladesh lost Tamim Iqbal for 25 early on the third day due to a needless run-out.

The tourists were rocked early, and dealt a huge blow in the third over of the morning. Mominul Haque flicked the ball bowled by Bhuvaneshwar Kumar behind square leg. Umesh fielded the ball and realised both the batters took a second run which wasn’t there. The throw did its job, and Tamim Iqbal was run out for 25. Horrible start for the Tigers.


Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mominul Haque, Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (Captain, Wicketkeeper), Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed and Kamrul Islam Rabbi


M Vijay, KL Rahul, CA Pujara, V Kohli (Captain), AM Rahane, WP Saha (Wicketkeeper), R Ashwin, RA Jadeja, B Kumar, UT Yadav and I Sharma