Home / National / Details

From July 7 Rickshaw ban on three major Dhaka roads

4 July 2019, 8:41:16

Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC) Mayor Sayeed Khokon today said to ease growing traffic congestion, the city
corporation has imposed ban on plying of rickshaws on three major roads in the capital.

The ban is expected to come into effect on Sunday, July 7.

The mayor made the announcement after emerging from a meeting of the Dhaka Transport Control Authority (DTC) formed in this regard at his office in the capital. Dhaka South City Corporation Mayor Sayeed Khokon chaired the meeting yesterday.

The routes are: Progoti Sarani from Kuril to Sayedabad via Rampura and Khilgaon; Mirpur Road from Gabtoli to Azimpur via Asad Gate; and Elephant Road from Science Laboratory Intersection to Shahbagh Intersection.

Bangladesh Road Transport Authority (BRTA) Chairman Moshiar Rahman, Bangladesh Road Transport Corporation (BRTC) Chairman Farid Ahmed Bhuiyan, Additional Commissioner (Traffic) of Dhaka Metropolitan Police (DMP) Mofiz Uddin Ahmed and General Secretary of Dhaka Transport Owners Association Khandaker Enayet Ullah, among others, were present at the meeting.

Unauthorized use of news, image, information, etc published by BD24Live.com is punishable by copyright law. Appropriate legal steps will be taken by the management against any person or body that infringes those laws.