Home / Sports / Details

Mashrafe receives AL nomination to contest election

26 November 2018, 12:54:00

Bangladesh ODI captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza has received Awami League nomination to contest the 11th parliamentary elections from Narail-2 constituency with “Boat” symbol.

Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader handed over letters to the party aspirants, who have been selected to contest the general election billed for December 30, at the party central office on Bangabandhu Avenue on Sunday.   

The Awami League nominees who are/were associated with sports include Awami League General Secretary and former State Minister for Youth and Sports Obaidul Quader (Noakhali-5), Bangladesh Wrestling Federation President Shajahan Khan (Madaripur-2), BCB President Nazmul Hassan Papon (Kishoreganj-6), two former BCB Presidents AHM Mustafa Kamal (Cumilla-10) and Saber Hossain Chowdhury (Dhaka-9), State Minister Youth and Sports Dr Biren Shikder (Magura-2), President of Bangladesh Tennis Federation and State Minister for Foreign Affairs Shahriar Alam (Rajshahi-6), BFF Vice-presidents Abdus Salam Murshedy (Khulna-4) and Kazi Nabil Ahmed (Jashore-3), President of Bangladesh Squash Rackets Federation Col (retd) Faruk Khan (Gopalganj-1), BCB Director cum former national captain Naimur Rahman Durjoy (Manikganj-1), Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Youth and Sports Ministry Zahid Ahsan Russell (Gazipur-2), President of the Women’s Sports Association Mahbub Ara Begum Gini (Gaibandha-2), former BFF Vice-president Bir Bahadur Ushwe Sing (Bandanban), Chairman of Dhaka Abahani Limited Salman F Rahman (Dhaka-1), Former BFF member and Chattogram Abahani Director Shamsul Haque Chowdhury(Chattogram-12) and former BCB Director Golam Dastagir Gazi (Narayanganj-1).

Unauthorized use of news, image, information, etc published by BD24Live.com is punishable by copyright law. Appropriate legal steps will be taken by the management against any person or body that infringes those laws.